The PRI announces results of its 2015 Board elections

November 16, 2015

The PRI Board elections closed on Monday 9 November. There were two open asset owner positions and one open investment manager position.

We had high levels of participation in the voting process, with 49% of asset owners, 29% of investment managers and 29% of service providers casting their votes.

The PRI is delighted to announce that the following individuals have been elected to the Board:

  • Xander den Uyl, from ABP, Netherlands (asset owner)
  • Angela Emslie, Chair, Hesta Superfund, Australia (asset owner)
  • Sandra Carlisle, Head of RI, Newton Investment Management, UK (investment manager)

Please see a breakdown of the voting at the bottom of the page.

The three elected Board directors, Xander, Angela and Sandra, start their three-year terms on 1 January 2016. The Board directors departing in December are Masaru Arai (JapanSIF), David Atkin (Cbus), Daniel Simard (Batirente) and Eric Wetlaufer (CPPIB).  The PRI hopes to continue to benefit from the expertise of the departing board directors.

Voters also thoroughly approved of the PRI 2014/15 annual report and accounts, 2014 SGM minutes and 2015 SGM minutes, with nearly 100% approval from asset owners, investment managers and service providers.

Martin Skancke, Chair of the PRI Board, said: “I am pleased to welcome Xander, Angela and Sandra to the Board and look forward to working with them over the next few years, in particular as the PRI celebrates its 10th anniversary next year”.

The election process was administered by an independent external provider, with signatories eligible to vote for candidates within their signatory category.


  • Xander den Uyl 84 (33.1%)
  • Angela Emslie 76 (29.9%)
  • Marie Giguère 59 (23.2%)
  • Pierre Ducret 35 (13.8%)


  • Sandra Carlisle 129 (51.2%)
  • Masaru Arai 123 (48.8%).